Ferris Club

tl;dr: 

First Rule of Ferris Club? Don’t talk about Ferris Club.

Second Rule of Ferris Club? Don’t talk about Ferris Club.



You can find anything if you Google long enough.

Like a lot of you, “Ferris Bueller’s Day Off” , is one of my favorite movies of all time. I loved almost everything about it from the moment my friend Peter Malcolm showed it to me. The wit, the perspective, the characters, the pacing; I could honestly go on and on about how much I love this movie. However, this post isn’t actually a critique, but the partial proof of a rather amusing pet theory of mine that I’ve had ever since I first watched it. 

I wondered if Ferris Bueller was a figment of Cameron’s imagination.

I remember my idea being regarded with curious skepticism by Peter, a far more experienced film connoisseur who was in fact responsible for picking the movie that we were watching.  To be frank, he had every right to, I’ll openly admit I knew (and still know) next to nothing about film, and what little I do know is primarily thanks to that guy right there. Still, it was a fun discussion, and I’d promised to one day take the time out to prove my theory.

Well, after a little digging, I’ve finally discovered a fun little secret from the internet that validates some of my little thought experiment. Turns out, like most things, I wasn’t the only one after all.

Ferris Club.

(Caution, annoying opening; skip to 7 seconds.)

Apparently the Fight Club/Ferris Bueller theory has been around for some time now, and quite a few people have written about it. Unfortunately, Ferris Club appears to operate in similar ways to its sister institutions, so that’s really all I can say about that; you know the rules bud. However, for the rest of you who aren’t quite fully inducted, now that you know, I can at least tell you the rules:

First Rule of Ferris Club? Don’t talk about Ferris Club.

Second Rule of Ferris Club? Don’t talk about Ferris Club.

Standard

Leave a Reply

